Back Forward All Topics Back Forward All Topics

Setting Offline preferences

When you work offline, you work with a local copy of your mail file called a subscription. Offline preferences apply to your offline subscription, and take effect when the offline subscription is installed.

About this task

It is important to set Offline preferences before you install an offline subscription. If you change any of these preferences after you have installed your subscription, you must reinstall it for the changes to take effect.

Procedure

  1. Click the arrow next to your name in the IBM® iNotes® banner, and then click Preferences.
  2. Click Offline and select any of the following options.
    Option Description
    Include server's Domino Directory Select this option to use address lookups, while working offline. This option may increase the time required to synchronize an offline subscription.
    Note: This option does not display unless your administrator made a directory available that you can take offline with the current subscription.
    Compact mail file after sync Select this option so that your offline mail file is compacted after synchronizing with the online mail file. Compacting reduces the amount of disk space occupied by the local mail file. This option may increase the time required to synchronize an offline subscription.
    Update full-text index after sync Select this option so that the full text index for the offline mail file (if any) is updated after synchronizing with the online mail file. This option may increase the time required to synchronize an offline subscription.
    Encrypt mail file locally Select this option to safeguard the local copy of your mail file by encrypting it.
    Important: If you plan to work offline, make sure you enable this preference before you install an offline subscription. You cannot encrypt your mail file after you install a subscription.
    Limit document attachments during sync Select this option to omit attachments if the total size of the attachment is greater than 100KB. Checking this option minimizes your local replica size.
    Only sync documents modified in last n days Select this option to synchronize only documents you have created or modified within a time frame set by you.